Five Years Ago

Five years ago, I met the girl that  became my first love, and first heartbreak. Sometimes I hate myself for even knowing it was five years ago, and for still thinking about her.

I fell hard and fast for her. She lived across the country but I was willing to do whatever it took to be with her, even if it meant moving across the country. To this day I still have thoughts of moving to Washington D.C. or visiting. It was a magical place because it is where I spent the most time with her.

Ever since then, I haven’t been able to commit to a relationship for any longer than a few months. I’ve had a a couple other heartbreaks since then and I feel like the wound of heartbreak just keeps getting deeper and deeper everytime… to the point where it is not able to heal.

I have become pretty cynical when it comes to relationships. I am afraid to love someone again and have it be so one sided. Being single is so much easier and safer.

Who knows if I will ever date again or find someone I am willing to commit to. All I know is that heartbreak sucks and I am not ready to feel that again.

Five Years Ago

3 thoughts on “Five Years Ago

  1. I know where you’re coming from. I had my heart broken into a thousand pieces and it was so bad it fractured my mind. Love will find you when you’re ready, don’t be afraid to fall, it’s a lot worse to miss out than to have you’re heart broken. 🙂

    Like

  2. I just got out of a relationship where I fell really hard for a woman who I thought would be my everything and this did not happen. I’m left now trying to pull the pieces together. I felt every word you were saying. Keep your head up and stay positive.

    Like

Leave a Reply

