Can’t Take The Heat

There is a familiar saying in the food world. “If you can’t take the heat, get out of the kitchen.” Well, I am done trying to pretend I am cool enough to take the heat. I am really burned out when it comes to food and cooking and am ready to make my exit.

Leaving your career as a cook or chef isn’t easy. Cooking becomes part of your identity and leaving it behind makes you second guess who you are.

All I know is that I am tired. Food isn’t the same when the love, fun, and creative juices are taken from it. I go to work, I cook from shitty recipes, and get paid a shit wage. If only they were more honest with you when you started culinary school. Instead of asking you if you were ready for an exicting career what they should of said was are you ready to be in debt that you could never pay off while working a shitty job with a shitty wage?

If I sound bitter it is because I am.

I am once again working my way back into personal training. I went to school for it about 6 years ago but I never got my national certification. Why not? I got a job as a personal trainer at a studio but social anxiety stopped me from continuing. I couldn’t handle presenting as female in such a body centered industry. I was already uncomfortable in my body so to add the pressures of a fit female body was intense. I never felt feminine enough, and mostly just super socially awkward.

But here I am today. Feeling much more confident in my body with a renewed passion in fitness/bodybuilding. Maybe I could make it as a trainer after all. All I know right now is that my job is sucking the life out of me. I live for the weekend and the minute I go home on my Friday… I start dreading Monday. There has got to be more to life than this.

 

 

 

Can’t Take The Heat

Leave a Reply

